Skip to main content

The Human Genome Organization (HUGO) has conferred its 2019 HUGO African Prize award to VHFC researcher Prof. Christian Happi, who is professor of Molecular Biology and Director at Redeemer’s University and Director of the World Bank funded African Center of Excellence for Genomics of Infectious Diseases (ACEGID).

The award is in recognition of Prof. Happi’s leadership and contributions to the field of genomics and infectious diseases especially in relation to the work done in Redeemer’s University by ACEGID in averting not only would-be national disasters but also, international epidemics. Prof. Happi who is also a visiting professor to Harvard University, obtained his PhD from University of Ibadan in the year 2000 in the field of Molecular Parasitology. His groundbreaking research works in the areas of Ebola and Lassa fever have earned him several awards and laurels including but not limited to; Best Researcher Award by the Committee of Vice-Chancellors of Nigerian Universities (CVC); US Department of Defense Award for Severe Infectious Diseases Surveillance in West Africa; National Universities Commission (NUC) Award for the Best Nigerian Academic Researcher in the field of Life Sciences and Medicine; Exxon-Mobil Corp. USA, Harvard University Malaria Leadership Fellowship Award; 2011, Merle A. Sande Health Leadership Award (Accordia Foundation USA); Burroughs Wellcome and Bill & Melinda Gates Awards (USA) to mention a few.

Prof. Happi serves on the board of several top international societies and committees and is also an editorial board member and reviewer for several internationally peer reviewed journals. He doubles as the Director, Directorate of Research, Innovations and Partnerships (DRIPs) in Redeemer’s University; Chair, Scientific Advisory Committee Africa Health Research Organization (AHRO) Ghana and Senior Associate Member, The Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA.

The award selection was done by a panel of six HUGO council members comprising of Professors and Directors of top genomics and medical research institutions in the world.